“Daddy, did you buy the armored tank?”

“Daddy did you buy me the armored tank?” That was the question that came out from the lips of the cutest guy in my household. The first time he made this request, I asked him if he wanted to be a soldier. My adorable 4 years old has been reminding me of this over and again, these past couple of days. Of course, he meant a toy armored tank, the run-of-the-mill type sold by the dozens as you drive across Slaughter bridge near Port Harcourt Zoo. At other times, with playful grins on his innocent face, he will welcome me back from work, “Daddy, I keep telling you something, but you don’t do it.” Friends, that is really touching.

Today, I had to apologize to this guy that I’ve been away on “adult education” at Uniport for the whole day. How do I explain to Mfon that the hold-ups and traffic go-slows through Port Harcourt “bomb – cratered” roads are hellishly punishing? How do I explain to this guy that I’ve been planning to go to Mile1 market so as to meet his requests as one of the reasons for my trip? How do I explain to this young man that he should thank God his dad has a job even though he unavoidably comes home late at times and always go offshore at short notice?

If only this young man knew what magnificient birthday gift awaits him on his 5th birthday (come October) from his dad and mum? If only this guy knew that his dad has better gift and greater plans for him than toy armored cars?

Does this story mirrors the relationship you have with your kid? Well, this kind of attitude from my boy reminds me of how I, as an adult do at times ignorantly pout and sulk in unbelief and doubt when the answers to my prayers are delayed. Only for God to answer them in outstandingly bigger ways than I would have ever dared to dream or hope for at some later time? All earthly fathers even at their best are weak, frail and subject to human limitations, but not our heavenly Father – the Lord God Almighty who is the King of the universe. The Bible said that, “if ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” Matthew 7.21.
So then, child of God, keep on asking and trusting. God is faithful, by whom ye were called unto the fellowship of his Son Jesus Christ our Lord.   1Corinthians 1v9.
God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?  Numbers 23:19

Yesterday, a pal ireverently opined on Facebook that “even God Almighty can be bribed.” My response was that Almighty God can be bribed, just the way his own children bribed him to earn his loving care and affection or just the way he bribed his parents before they agreed to take care of him and tried to give him the best in life.
“if ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” Matthew 7.21.

Romans 8:32 He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?

John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

GOD IS LOVE.

Leave a Reply

