“Life is two times.” (“Life is two terms.”)

I grew up in the village with my grand parents during my teen years. Back then, life, though beautiful and simpler could be hard and grueling. Folks, it was a rustic village life then. I can recall hearing my paternal grandmother time and again in our local dialect that “Life is two times.” That is the exact translation of what my granny used to say to me then. Even though the rendering sounds too colloquial (I can find no better way of translating it. Just forgive me. I am not a linguist), the meaning of that expression will be immediately understood by the users of my native dialect.  She also used to tell me that, “If you are going to the land of departed spirits (paradise), don’t forget those who are still on planet earth” struggling to eke out their daily existence. She has been late these past many years now, but her loving care and many profound words of wisdom still remain with me, intact.

Now what does this tell me in practical terms and on a day-by-day basis?
That; if you are oppotuned to find yourself in America and all the other man-made paradises of this planet earth, you must not forget about the rest of us left behind in this man-made (or polticians-made) hell of a chequered Nigeria. That, if you are opportuned to climb to the top of the ladder that your forbears laboured to lay on the wall to ease the way to your success, you don’t remove or break the ladder when you reach the top. That,  God lifted you up so that you can lift up and enrich the life of others. Do not frustrate them. Do not let your folks down on that trust. After all, who really knows tomorrow? And so on and so forth…..

I have even come to personally discover that life here on earth could be two, three or four times (or terms). Litterally. I don’t mean death and resurrection now. Of course,  I believe in death and resurrection.

Don’t just give up hope.

I have not and may never meet any of the subjects in the series of pictures shown below. (The pictures are all belonging to their copyright owners). I am sure you even have better shots that are more suited for the collection. You will be forgiven if you don’t recognize the main subject at first. Just keep on scrolling. It doesn’t matter which side of the political divide you are on, ensure that the morale of this story doesn’t slip through the fingers of your busy thoughts. At the end,  you will see the irreducible wisdom embeded in my late granny’s  witty words.

Be careful how you despise, undermine, humiliate, size-up and write-off the underdogs today. Underdogs do at times become topdogs. Tomorrow, though seemingly right-at-hand, is still too far. God Almighty is an expert at turning situations around. He can and He will turn your life around (the same way, He turned mine around) because, He is Jehovah Almighty and He has the final say. Always.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Hope.

5 comments on ““Life is two times.” (“Life is two terms.”)

  1. Very true, but I’m bothered by the notion of treating people well because you don’t know when/where you need them. I think we should grow to the point of loving everyone and helping them simply because they are human and every single one of us is special in his/her own way. As grow older, I realise more and more that I was placed on this earth to serve and to love and since my master will always provide the necessary tools and resources I’m all the more eager to give my all and hold nothing back.
    Beautiful piece “life is in many parts (terms)”

    Like

    • I agree with your comments entirely. I should treat others the way I will like to be treated. And this is all the more needed as I do not know where the winds o’f life’s viccissitudes may chance to blow me come tomorrow.

      Like

  2. I should treat others the way I will like to be treated. And this is all the more needed as I do not know where the winds of life’s viccissitudes may chance to blow me come tomorrow.

    Like

  3. Still in my early 30s, but I have learnt never to give up or totally give in to life’s pressures and be fashioned by its bidings. This is because I have got alot to share and partner with everyone that I have met; this is my testimony and I have grown better and fatter in it. Grandma, who incidentally is my maternal grandma taught me forbearance – acceptance and patience; she is an epitome of patience and forbearance, even her step children run to her and trust her more. I spent my early years with her till I finished my post primary. Did you know I cant tell what made grandma to always keep food for me even when every one had not eaten, simply because I am gone to school?

    This is not about remembering her or eulogising her; it is just that she has impacted us in her own way and we cant but admit it today that it was for good.

    The beauty of life has become so real as God has taken over our lives, and are now people of direction; people who were once in the dark (in any you can think it). What a loving God! has configured me with static IPs in my genes to be love personified.

    Prepation meets opportunity – how truelly prepared can you be? How much prepared can you feel to be adequate? When do you think your preparedness will meet opportunity? I think Loving, sharing and rendering support in whatever way/capacity to your fellow humans are the best opportunity to express how prepared you truely are

    Like

  4. Francis Ayo: Thanks for making time to read & share. Our granddma love is unsurpassed. One in billions she was. I can still recall times without numbers when the woman in her “tough-love”, had to be “harsh” on me. Even then, I quickly recognized that her harshness was meant to protect me from the inevitable malevolent “lions” and “top-guns” – (permit me to say that) of our big family & neighborhoods. What love could be more than that? She was one of the two people that made our town so beautiful & so inviting to me. When they passed away, something in me.… … . Litterally. My heart still bleeds. The tears just won’t dry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

